My tribute to the little master….

Sachin Tendulkar

Cricket to me is something that I do not take cognizance of mostly. But, in the last couple of weeks, I lost to my perception, I lost to the grandeur, I lost to the stature of a legend -the little master. A defeat was pleasing to the senses for the first time ever.  I found the feeling difficult to contain within & hence have set out to this space with the outpour.

Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar, a name that is an introduction in itself. I am already convinced that if there is a synonym to the word Cricket, it surely is just one ‘Sachin’. Days are not far when children, young & ambitious, would utter “I am playing Sachin mom, allow me  some more time please”. And that benevolent mother would bow down to the request of her child for the love of nation, for the love of Sachin. Due to my limited interest in the game as mentioned, I know not much about Sir Donald Bradman. I have come to terms with this fact realizing that I at least know who is the Bradman of today. Sachin, no doubt, has proved to be the Bradman of this era.  A player who has a ton of tons in international cricket is truly a magician. Sachin has set out some stupendous benchmarks during his cricketing career. Some of them are almost unbreakable, but would be a great impetus for the youngsters in trying to achieve them. His last inning was absolutely a treat to watch as he rose to the occasion gracefully. This seclusion from the sport wouldn’t be less than a nightmare for him. That last march to the dressing room after his dismissal, would have been an enormously cumbersome one to tread. The way he played leaves me pondering like many others, was there more of cricket left in the little master? Was it an early deprival for his fans?

The post-match speech of Sachin was one of the best I had ever lent ears to. He commenced with thanking his father & continued down the list, though it was such a difficult time to speak. I believe that to emerge victorious in any walk of life, a person first needs to have a good character. Sachin has had this attribute in handsome proportion. From what we know about him, he is an obeying son, a loving brother, a wonderful husband, a caring father, an encouraging teammate & above all a generous human being. This was all evident on the countenance of those near & dear ones present around him. Life is a melange of several transitions & plenty of events. What dominates at the end is the family bonding. At this difficult moment of parting away from his passion, it is the support of his family that would help him ease the ordeal.

The 24 years of relentless cricket, filled with numerous moments of euphoria, have suddenly ceased. The hero has gifted so much to his country throughout the course of his career & now it was our turn to reciprocate.  The media played its part by dedicating bulletins to his name, the spectators turned up in multitude, there might be some penning up praises for him like me, but still it is no match against his contributions.

I wish I could have kept from loosing my interest in cricket, only had Sachin been a part. You wouldn’t be missed Sachin, for missed are those who are forgotten at first. You live in our hearts. Stay blessed……

Photo Source: Sachin’s Facebook page

2 thoughts on “My tribute to the little master….

Leave a Reply

